How to calulating the win probility of outcomes?

The math of winning at proline. Edge play, bankroll management and related issues.
richhhh

How to calulating the win probility of outcomes?

Post by richhhh » Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:33 pm

Hi friends newbie here , sorry if this question been ask before. How are win probability's being calculated? I have many questions but ill just start with one :D :D

ProlinePlayer
Site Admin

Re: How to calulating the win probility of outcomes?

Post by ProlinePlayer » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:19 am

to start with a basic explanation of how the probabilities are determined is explained in the faq

If you have more questions on this let me know and I'll try to help.

PLP

richhhh

Post by richhhh » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:28 pm

Sorry i should have been specific . I was hoping to see the formula for calculating win probability from a offshore line.
Thank you for the reply my new edgy friend :D
Rich

ProlinePlayer
Site Admin

Post by ProlinePlayer » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:19 am

ok

The following is how to convert the book lines to win probabilities. These methods work if the offshore line uses the same betting system as proline. Baseball, hockey soccer are fine. Others may be more difficult.

I'll use the TampaBay - Phoenix game for today's list
Pinnacle line is TampaBay +133 Phoenix - 144

Step 1
--------
Convert the lines to decimal odds. When doing any calculations it's always better to use the decimal odds as opposed to the vegas odds.
The formula for this is
(AmountRisked + AmountToWin) / AmountRisked
so for Tampa : (100 + 133) / 100 = 2.33
for Phoenix : (144 + 100) / 144 = 1.69

Step 2
--------
The line for the game also include the vig charged by the book. The next step is to find out how much vig there is.
To do this we figure out what the win percentage is for each team as if it was a fair line. Because of the vig the percentages will total to over 100%. The amount over is called the Over-round
the formula for this is